Main Menu

Clark School

Chunsheng WangDr. Chunsheng Wang

Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Member of University of Maryland Energy Research Center
Affiliated with Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Room 1223A Chemical & Nuclear Engineering Bldg.
Building #090
University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742

Email: cswang@umd.edu
Phone: 301-405-0352  |  Fax: 301-405-0523


  • Ph.D., Materials Science and Engineering, Zhejiang University, China, 1995

Research Interests and Professional Skills

  • Li-ion batteries, Na-ion batteries, supercapacitors, and fuel cells
  • Electrochemistry
  • Nanostructured materials

Most Recent Publications

  1. L. Suo, O. Borodin, T. Gao, M. Olguin, J. Ho, X. Fan, C. Luo, C. Wang, K. Xu, “Water-in-Salt” Electrolyte Enables High Voltage Aqueous Li-ion Chemistries" Science, 350(2015)938, Perspective from Prof. Bruce Dunn
  2. Y. Wen, K. He, Y. Zhu, F. Han, Y. Xu, I. Matsuda, Y. Ishii, J Cumings, and C. Wang, "Expanded Graphite as Superior Anode for Sodium-Ion Batteries," Nature Communications, 5(2014)4033.
  3. K. Xu, C. Wang, Batteries: Widening voltage windows, Nature Energy, News and Review
  4. H. Tian, T. Gao, X. Li, X. Wang, C. Luo, X. Fan, C. Yang, L. Suo, Z. Ma, W. Han, and C. Wang, High Power Rechargeable Mg/I2 Battery Chemistry, Nature Communications, Accepted
  5. F. Wang, Y. Lin, L. Suo, X. Fan, T. Gao, C. Yang, F. Han, Y. Qi, K. Xu d and C. Wang, Stabilizing High-Voltage LiCoO2 Cathode in Aqueous Electrolyte with Interphase-forming Additive, Energy & Environmental Science, 2016, DOI: 10.1039/C6EE02604D
  6. F. Han, J. Yue, X. Fan, T. Gao, C. Luo, Z.i Ma, L. Suo, C. Wang, Batteries Enabled by Mixed-Conductive Li2S Nanocomposites, Nano Letters, 16(2016)4521. DOI:10.1021/acs.nanolett.6b01754
  7. L. Suo, O. Borodin, W. Sun, X. Fan, C. Yang, F. Wang, T. Gao, Z. Ma, M. Schroeder, A. v. Cresce, S. M. Russell, M. Armand, A. Angell, K. Xu, and C. Wang, "Advanced High Voltage Aqueous Li-ion Battery Enabled by “Water-in-Bisalt” Electrolyte," Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. (VIP). 2016,55,7136–7141
  8. F. Han, T. Gao, Y. Zhu, K. J. Gaskell, C. Wang, "A Battery Made from a Single Material", Advanced Materials, 27(2015)3473.
  9. Y. Xu, Y. Zhu, F. Han, C. Luo, and C. Wang, "3D Si/C Fiber Paper Electrodes Fabricated by a Combined Electrospray/Electrospinning Technology for Li-Ion Batteries," Advanced Energy Materials, 5(2015)1400753.
  10. T. Gao, M. Noked, A. J Pearse, E. Gillette, X. Fan, Y. Zhu, C. Luo, L. Suo, M.. A Schroeder, K. Xu, S. B. Lee, G. W. Rubloff, C. Wang, Enhancing the Reversibility of Mg/S Battery Chemistry through Li+ Mediation, Journal of American Chemical Society, 37(2015)12388. Highlighted by C&EN


  •  Click on the Researcher ID to view all publications, citations, and H-index

Recognitions and Honors

  1. Junior Faculty Outstanding Research Award, 2013
  2. Winner of UMD’s invention of the Year for 2015.

Sessions Chaired in Conferences / Meetings

  1. Co-leading organizer, Symposium E5, Advanced Materials for Rechargeable Batteries, 2013 Materials Research Society Fall Meeting & Exhibit, December 1-6, Boston, Massachusetts 2013
  2. Co-Chair, 01E04 Electrochemical Methods: A Tutorial Session. AIChE Annual Meeting, Minneapolis Convention Center Minneapolis, MN. October 16-21, 2011
  3. Co-Chair, B1-Electrochemistry of Novel Electrode Materials for Energy Conversion and Storage—PEMFC, May 07, 2007, 211th ECS Meeting-Chicago, Illinois. May 06-May 10, 2007.
  4. Chair, B1-Electrochemistry of Novel Electrode Materials for Energy Conversion and Storage—batteries and solar cells, May 10, 2007, 211th ECS Meeting, Chicago, Illinois, May 06-May 10, 2007.
  5. Chair, B4-Metal/Air and Metal/Water Batteries; Battery/Energy Technology, 210th Electrochemical Society (ECS) Meeting, Cancun, Mexico, October 29-November 3, 2006.
  6. Co-Chair, E1-Electrode Materials and Processes for Energy Conversion and Storage, 209th ECS Meeting, Denver, CO, May 7-12, 2006.
  7. Co-Chair, Electrochromics for Energy Efficiency, 208th ECS Meeting, Los Angeles, California, October 16-21, 2005.
  8. Co-Chair, Innovation in the Fuel Cell Development section of AIChE, 2005.

ChBE home Home